top of page
  • isabelgjunk

Mentor Text Talk — Fish Cheeks by Amy Tan

Updated: May 4, 2022




Background

  • As someone who grew up in a Caucasian dominated town, I struggled a lot with my identity as a multiethnic individual. This piece was introduced to me when I was writing my college application essays and really opened my eyes to the beauty of my cultures. It really helped me to appreciate and be proud of who I am and where I come from.

Composition:

  • Through the effective use of symbolism, imagery, figurative language, and tone, Amy showed the conflict she endured as well as what she learned and

  • The title, "Fish Cheeks", is symbolic as food is the main vessel for delivering

  • Im not sure whether id consider this to be a poem or an autobiography , but when interpreting it either way, you still come to a similar result

    • If you choose to see it as an autobiography, you can take from this that telling your own story form your own perspective, you give the most honest possible telling of who you are and where you are from.

    • If you choose to see it as a poem, you understand that Poetry is one of the oldest forms of literature. It has been around for centuries and has been used to express emotions and ideas in a way that no other form of writing can. It can be such an influential medium because it allows for people to share their thoughts with others without having to put them in words themselves

  • Overall the success of this composition does not only lie in the fluidity of the text, but also in its ability to convey a much deeper message that is easily interpreted by readers of all backgrounds.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page